Who we are
The Freudenberg Foundation was set up in 1984 by partners of the Freudenberg & Co. KG company as an independent, civil-societal organization tasked with fostering education and peaceful co-existence.

The Freudenberg Foundation


Right from the start it has campaigned for a strong democratic civil society in Europe, with a primary focus on Germany.

We put our trust in the strength of civil society. We believe that it can make the world a more democratic place without any groupings’ being ostracized. The Freudenberg Foundation supports charitable organizations that have the potential to progress social cohesion and democratic culture on a long-term basis.

The yardstick of success is whether in the regions where the foundation is meaningfully involved democracy-boosting forces continue to flourish, and upward mobility through education is possible irrespective of a person’s social origins.


Germany is at present experiencing a shift to the right. Society is increasingly fissured: this is discernible within city districts, between urban and rural communities, and between different ideological milieus. At the same time, Germany plays a key role in Europe for successfully consolidating democracy, social cohesion including refugees and also fair economic relationships with emigration countries. The Freudenberg Foundation, as an independent organization committed to long-term activism, opts here for advanced models of social inclusion and democratic culture.

Wer wir sind
Die Freudenberg Stiftung wurde 1984 von Gesellschafter*innen der Firma Freudenberg & Co. KG als unabhängige zivilgesellschaftliche Organisation für Bildung sowie das friedliche Zusammenleben gegründet.

Die Freudenberg Stiftung

engagiert sich von Anfang an für eine starke demokratische Zivilgesellschaft in Europa mit Fokus auf Deutschland.

Wir bauen auf die Stärke der Zivilgesellschaft. Wir glauben daran, dass sie die Welt zu einem demokratischeren Ort für alle machen kann, ohne dass Gruppen ausgrenzt werden. Die Freudenberg Stiftung unterstützt gemeinnützige Organisationen, die das Potenzial haben, langfristig sozialen Zusammenhalt und demokratische Kultur voranzubringen.

Maßstab des Gelingens ist, dass in den Regionen, in denen sich die Stiftung engagiert, demokratiestärkende Kräfte weiter zunehmen und Aufstieg durch Bildung unabhängig von der sozialen Herkunft möglich ist.

Deutschland erlebt zurzeit einen Rechtsruck. Die Gesellschaft spaltet sich zunehmend, das ist spürbar innerhalb von Stadtteilen, zwischen Stadt und Land sowie zwischen unterschiedlichen weltanschaulichen Milieus. Zugleich kommt Deutschland eine Schlüsselrolle in Europa für das Gelingen von Demokratie, sozialem Zusammenhalt unter Einschluss Geflüchteter und auch von fairen Wirtschaftsbeziehungen mit Auswanderungsländern zu. Die Freudenberg Stiftung setzt deshalb als unabhängige, langfristig handelnde Organisation hier auf avancierte Modelle sozialer Inklusion und demokratischer Kultur.